Glacier National Park – Check!

I’m going by myself, by train, from western Colorado through Utah, Nevada, California, Oregon, Washington, Idaho and at last, Montana and Glacier. I have things to entertain myself on the trip but find instead that I do only three things: watch the scenery out the window, talk to other passengers and Amtrak employees, and try to sleep. I arrive at Glacier at 8:30am, in a state of jet lag.

KODAK Digital Still Camera

Journalling my Journey

KODAK Digital Still Camera

A marvelous meal in a little Asian cafe in Sacramento

KODAK Digital Still Camera

Last stop before West Glacier

The first two days in the Park are extremely challenging. I feel uncomfortably alone and lonely in the Sprague Creek campground. It’s too close to a busy road and I share the campsite with 2 young men who are as tired and un-talkative as I am. Nothing is as I expect. I must make long trips on foot and by shuttle to get fuel for my stove. Everything food-wise costs 2 1/2 times normal and the choices are extremely poor. I have no phone service or internet and I’m lonely and feel so out of place. I would leave immediately, but I can’t. I have no way to reach Amtrak and change my ticket.

So I do what I do: I go for a hike. Avalanche Lake. I hang out by Lake McDonald. I get some much needed sleep. I remember why I’m there.

KODAK Digital Still Camera

Avalanche Lake

KODAK Digital Still Camera

Lake McDonald

KODAK Digital Still Camera

Resting by the lake

On Day 3 I move to the east side of the Park, to St Mary’s. Here the climate and character of the vegetation and landscape change dramatically. The campground is large but during the day is almost completely empty and quiet as people shuttle off to the many accessible trails. More bikers show up – no hikers yet, that’s still to come.

I hike daily while here. The trails on the east side are more accessible from St Mary’s, the roads and shuttles less crowded.

KODAK Digital Still Camera

Piegan Pass

 

Day 7 is moving day again. I catch the Xanterra shuttle ($10) to Many Glaciers. Once again I enter into a new world, unique. This is the Heart of Glacier. It is extraordinarily beautiful with its glacial lakes, waterfalls, flowers, rugged peaks and wildlife. I fall in love.

The hiking is easy. The trails empty of crowds before 9am. A few go before me, many more come after. I hike to Ptarmigan Pass, then to Iceberg Lake twice. I walk to the Many Glacier Lodge. Each day I walk 10-15 miles then recharge on huckleberry ice cream for lunch. It’s the best lunch available.

KODAK Digital Still Camera

Huckleberry Ice Cream at Swiftcurrent Lodge

I’m meeting more hikers here and more interesting bikers. I’m impressed with the young family biking through Glacier and the surrounding area. The little girl, Alyssa, is 5, her brother 8. She has mesmerizing eyes and long tangled curls. Their bike is quite the affair, allowing for an adult and 2 children to bike in tandem.

KODAK Digital Still Camera

Custom bikes

A little explanation about the hiker/biker campsites. They cost $5/night per person ($2.50 for federal parks cardholders). The Park will never turn away a biker or hiker. The sites can hold several people and usually have a couple of tables and fire pits. It’s a great way to meet and mingle with interesting people doing amazing things.

Photos from the Many Glaciers area . . .

KODAK Digital Still Camera

Trail to the Ptarmigan Tunnel

KODAK Digital Still Camera

Moose watching in a small lake near Swiftcurrent Lodge

KODAK Digital Still Camera

Iceberg Lake

KODAK Digital Still Camera

Bear Grass

KODAK Digital Still Camera

Bear Grass

KODAK Digital Still Camera

Indian Painbrush

This trip was a trial run at solo travel and hiking/backpacking in the US. Back home in Colorado, as soon as all commitments are out of way by Aug 19 I intend to hit the trail again. This time to Frisco, Colorado where I’ll pick up the Colorado Trail heading east to Denver. From there, if I’m feeling strong, I’ll shuttle back to Frisco and head west toward Leadville. All of this in preparation for the A.T. next year. I must first challenge myself this summer to see if I really have the stuff I need to make my dreams happen. More to come . . . . .

What a beautiful place, truly the Crown of the Continent. Visit it if you can. It’s like a pilgrimage.

Save

Leave a Reply

